Therapy.

March 26, 2009 at 4:59 pm 3 comments

So, today I had my second visit with the psychiatrist. We’re at that awkward point where I’m still trying to describe myself without sounding all cliche. Yes, I had WLS. Yes, I thought it would help a lot of my “problems” before surgery and…um…it didn’t. Not for long. But really, my whole life just needs ironing out. I’m Getting Things Done. Next week begins my bi-weekly sessions with the psychologist.

One thing I’ve been doing a lot lately is reading. Books on  BPD,  and then in between all that serious stuff I’ve been blazing through the Twilight series. I’ve fallen in love with it. Sigh. It’s embarrassing. I actually went to buy the movie at midnight last weekend and, well, it was insane. There were people cheering and clapping and acting like maniacs. I didn’t see the movie in the theater, but I didn’t think it deserved that much frenzy. People were grabbing at the DVDs like they were lined with gold.

But the movie was good. Really good. I didn’t like that they left a lot of stuff out…but that is to be expected. It’s a giant book, squished into a 2 hour film. It’s not amazing. It’s not going to go on my top 5. I’m not going to wear the t-shirts and cry/flip out/go ape-shit when I see a preview. But yeah, Edward. Hot. And stuff. Guilty pleasure.

Other than walking on eggshells around my new meds (they have some interesting side-effects…like weirdo headaches), I’ve been spending a lot of time with my dog. I think dog-therapy is one of the best remedies, ever.

031809-022

031809-0241

Entry filed under: fixing my brain. Tags: , , , , .

Party time! Only not so much. No future in the art of dance.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiptoe  |  March 27, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    First off, your pooch is adorable! I love those lion cuts on poms. I think a lot of them like it too. 🙂

    Anyway, it’s early in the game her with therapy, so just continue to give it a try and see where things go. Yeah to reading a balanced book list! We all have to have our guilty pleasures. It’s what keeps us sane!

    Reply
  • 2. girlslashwoman  |  April 5, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Your dog is so cute! Puppy-bonding is definitely the best therapy ever. They love you no matter how screwed up you are.

    Reply
    • 3. Griffin H. Bat  |  April 9, 2009 at 7:44 pm

      girlslashwoman: thanks! It really is amazing that my dog likes me so much, even though I’m a total nutter. She doesn’t seem to notice. Maybe because she’s kind of crazy, too. Hehe.

      Tiptoe: I love those lion cuts, too! Her fur grows so fast, it’s almost time to get another one! She loves it for summer. And therapy is moving along. It’d probably move faster if I would do my therapy “homework” instead of reading library books, heh…they’re just too good to put down. =O

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


