Plastic surgery: for when you STILL can’t see your belly button…

March 10, 2009 at 11:22 pm 4 comments

So I had pretty much written off my bariatric support group meetings. I’d decided that it wasn’t worth the traffic to go to them anymore. I mean, I felt out of place the last few times, because most of the people there are pre-ops, and it’s been about a year since I’ve seen anyone close to my age there. Not that I’m saying I’m against being in a room full of old pre-ops, but, this is rush hour,  people. The time of day that I stay put, in my house, and stay the hell away from the 2-3 hours of madness on the highway close to my house.

But, okay, I got an e-mail saying that the guest speaker today was going to be a plastic surgeon. Hallelujah!  I knew this  meeting was geared towards post-ops, for once (last month I was sorely disappointed when the psychologist that came to speak to the group mainly focused on pre-op/new-op issues). So I braved the traffic, sat my squishy ass down, and listened. And learned.

The surgeon had a nice little powerpoint presentation, mostly pictures of nekked, squishy post-ops such as myself in need of a little, uh, lift and tuck and erase.  I was relieved to see pictures of people who were young, like me, who didn’t have a terribly large amount of skin to remove, but was still enough to be bothersome. I mean, I see myself in the mirror. It’s gross. This validated me in that, no, I’m not in a terrible situation, but yes, it’s not just vanity. I’m just a deflated version of my 300+lb self. Shit needs to go.

Plastic surgery. They do payment plans, right? Let’s hope.

Other news: Since the snow post? It’s been steadily becoming hot as hell. Today it was 80+ degrees out. I painted my toenails red and dug out my gladiator sandals. (<~that link is the exact pair/style I have. But those are not my feet.)  I love those stupid things. I may need a lower body lift, but at least my feet are good to go.

Entry filed under: the aftermath. Tags: , , .

The shrinking of my head. Decisions, decisions…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. girlslashwoman  |  March 11, 2009 at 3:48 am

    It’s actually hot? Oh my god, I am so insanely jealous. It snowed again 😦

    Reply
    • 2. Griffin H. Bat  |  March 11, 2009 at 11:56 pm

      Well, it was hot. Now I have the heat on again. =( But it’s holding steady at around 60 degrees. Cold to me, and no one else. But just wait; in like 2 months I will be bitching about how insanely hot it is/how my face is melting off. Heh.

      Reply
  • 3. girlslashwoman  |  March 13, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Hahaha oh god, I nearly flipped out when you said 60 degrees. We’re in celsius north of the border so 60 degrees would be like… 140 degrees fahrenheit.

    Reply
    • 4. Griffin H. Bat  |  March 13, 2009 at 11:55 pm

      OMG, that is too much! Sometimes it -feels- like 140 degrees here…but now it’s cold again. >=O I never understood that whole celsius thing. Oh, we Americans…we’re so weird. I swear.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


