The shrinking of my head.

March 5, 2009 at 8:58 pm 3 comments

So, I went to the psychologist today. Apparently, I have some issues. Heh. What a surprise! No, but really…I’m looking forward to learning new ways of “coping”. I’ve got to figure out why I deal with things the way I do. Turns out, my RNY didn’t turn off my autonomous coping mechanism via food. And there’s some reason that I’m having panic attacks and acting like a total crazypants lately (example: the other day I freaked out, went into the bathroom, and chopped off my hair. It’s chin-length now. Regret, yes.) Huh.

And? I met with the pill-pusher and I’m starting on some serious brain-fixin’ dope tomorrow. Is it dope if it’s a prescription? I mean, I’m curious. I know a lot of people call marijuana “dope” but also any other form of naughty drug. But what if you have a prescription? Like, “hey man, I’ve gotta go pick up my dope.” It just sounds more fun than, “hey, I’ve got to go pick up my prescribed mood stabilizer.”

I don’t know. I’ve been in my head a lot  today, obviously. I need a rest. I need to reward myself for not chickening out of therapy with, I don’t know, a new app for my iPod or something. I keep downloading free ones and they suck. I’m learning that, with Apple, “free” usually means “shitty demo of the real version that’s at least 3 bucks”. But I dunno. I really want Tetris.

Entry filed under: fixing my brain. Tags: , , .

Snow & self-diagnosis. Plastic surgery: for when you STILL can’t see your belly button…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. girlslashwoman  |  March 6, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    No, legal drugs are not “dope” but it sounds way better than prescribed medications.
    Although, you know there’s a ton of random stuff you can call them that can sound cool and vague at the same time… and leave people feeling mildly confused.
    “Oh wow, those cookies gave me a headrush today”
    “I need to go pick up my smurfs”
    “Ugh I need to refill my tic-tacs-if-ya-know-what-I-mean-wink”
    “Can you hold my Mr Happy while I go get some liquids to swallow it with”
    Yep… getting a little too far out there.

    Reply
  • 2. Tiptoe  |  March 6, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Yeah, for making it to your first appt. It sounds promising.

    Yes, dope of course sounds better and more fashionable. You could always say these are my “Happy pills.” LOL Good luck with them.

    By the way, your haircut, albeit spontaneous as you say, is quite cute on you.

    Reply
  • 3. Griffin H. Bat  |  March 10, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    girlslashwoman: I think that calling meds “smurfs” is pretty much the best idea, ever, and I am going to use this term, effective immediately! Heh.

    tiptoe: “happy pills” is another great way of describing them! I remember when I saw a Wellbutrin for the first time, the script on the pill looked like a smiley face. So every time people call them Hapy Pills, I think of that. =P And thank you. My hair, it’s a force to be dealt with, heh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


