Can you OD on chocolate? Is there a poison control number for that?

February 14, 2009 at 9:31 pm 4 comments

valentine-0092

Valentine’s Day. Oh, Valentine’s Day. With your flowers and chocolate and general mooshy-gooshery. I kind of forgot about it until I stopped by to see my boyfriend at work (Whole Foods) and saw how insanely into it people are this year. Flowers and candy abound. It’s crazy, guys.

I’m spending it alone, pretty much, but my boyfriend did go to the fancy Peterbrooke Chocolatier this morning and got me a box of sugar free chocolates. Not shitty, make-you-crap-your-pants sugar free chocolate. Good chocolate. And I am SO not above this whole expensive sugar free chocolate thing, we know this. Because I’d rather eat the good stuff than get really pukey from the real stuff, and my pouch loathes that cheap shit. Really.

I’m so in love with this particular brand of chocolate, that I ate through a third of the box before taking pictures. But I never get expensive chocolate so, here.

valentine-011

And because I felt particularly festive today and appropriately caffeinated:

valentine-015

Yeah. I like Pink…

I will be glad when this whole lusty/love/blahblah crap floating around in the air goes away, though. People are acting strange. Like yesterday, I was waiting in front of one of those road workers holding a Stop sign…and the guy comes up to my car, I roll down my window, and he proceeds to tell me how “beautiful and young” I look and keeps trying to get my number. Uh, creepy. And tricky. Because I couldn’t run the stop sign he was supposed to be holding. Would one go to jail for spraying mace in the face of a an aggressively creepy road worker? Probably. So I smiled and waited it out. I guess he thought he was going to get a date for Valentine’s day. Sigh.

But, really, I have a feeling that this has been a good day for most people; for some reason it seems that people are appreciating their loved ones a little more this year because of the state of things. Or chocolate has just gotten that much better.

Entry filed under: holidays, yummy things. Tags: , .

My head needs a vacation. I need new hair.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. girlslashwoman  |  February 18, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    I always used to love the day after valentine’s day.
    1/2 off all chocolate 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Griffin H. Bat  |  February 19, 2009 at 7:30 pm

      Oh God–and it’s STILL there! I was in Wal-Mart yesterday and they still had a ton of chocolate and those heart-shaped sprinkle cookies that have to be made from 1000 different chemicals but taste soo-oo good. Ugh. AND the Easter candy is out now. Double uh-oh.

      Reply
  • 3. girlslashwoman  |  February 20, 2009 at 3:13 am

    I was just going to mention that, plus the Cadbury Creme Egg bunnies are “back”. National holidays have made sure that we can’t get through to spring without getting fatter.

    Reply
    • 4. Griffin H. Bat  |  February 22, 2009 at 2:28 am

      girlslashwoman: you said the magical words. Cadbury Creme Eggs. Oh. My. Why are they so good? Why would I want to eat something that has “fake raw yolk” wrapped in a thick chocolate shell? Why? I think this is one of the greatest mysteries of life. And I looked at the sugar content in one of these last year, and have since blocked it out because it was so depressing. =O

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


