The “job” situation…

January 3, 2009 at 4:55 pm 5 comments

So, I have a job interview Wednesday. I really, really hate job interviews. I’ve never “lost” at an interview. But still, I never know how to answer those ridiculous questions, like:

What are your weaknesses?

Oh, I don’t know. Chocolate?

It’s true. But not what they’re looking for. I just hope to go into it looking professional, sweet as pie, and do my best. It’s for a real job, none of this fulfilling-my-nerd-dreams-at-a-bookstore/getting-it-out-of-my-system job stints. It’s in a hospital and everything. Given, it’s an entry-level pharmacy position, but it’s at a university hospital and it would be great to start up there and then get to go to school for free after however many months. Pharmacy seems to be the direction in which I am currently pointing. I have taken too many health-science classes to just turn my back. Heh.

But yes. I’m still blogging via free interwebz at Whole Foods. I think they’re making me fat again. But I can’t sit here, use the internet, and ignore those smells and all that good crap wafting my way. But I am about to go clean my entire new house so it doesn’t smell like…old house. I’ll burn off all this “health food”, you betcha.

I guess I’m an adult now: I actually have enough floor-space to need one of those Swiffer mops, so I bought one. I went to Target and bought cleaning supplies instead of a DVD/CD/clothes. I guess the next step is saving for retirement and looking up condos in Boca.

Entry filed under: life. Tags: , .

So this is the New Year… When it rains, it pours.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiptoe  |  January 8, 2009 at 12:24 am

    I hope the interview went well. Those can be intimidating and nerve-racking. And there is definitely an element of “growing up.”

    Reply
    • 2. Griffin H. Bat  |  January 15, 2009 at 3:23 am

      tiptoe: thanks, I think it went fairly well. I realized I have a LOT of growing up to do when it comes to interviews/jobs/life. A lot. Heh.

      Reply
  • 3. girlslashwoman  |  January 8, 2009 at 2:41 am

    I’m pro at interviews. It’s pretty much about being as corny as you can but saying it like you mean it.
    What’s your biggest weakness?
    Well when I used to work at (place), I had a tendency of driving people as hard as I drove myself until I realized that it wasn’t an efficient way of motivating workers because everyone has different needs in the workplace so I started observing people around me and picking up on what they did best (etc) so I guess you could say I’ve improved on that a lot.
    If she’s really a bitch, she’ll ask you for something else.
    I used to be terrible because I would freak out. Then I started going on sites like Workopolis and stuff to read their articles. Believe it or not, they really do help. You can totally fake confidence even if you’re falling to pieces inside.
    I remember sitting through an interview where I could tell off the bat that the owner didn’t like me. She asked me about my worst spa experience, I named the spa and told her what was wrong as diplomatically as I could and she told me that it was interesting because she knew the spa owner who was very professional, I told her that I was sure they were fine most of the time but “from my experience”… that was not my experience. God, that was an interview from hell. I still left smiling though and kinda happy because who wants a dragon for a boss anyway?

    Reply
    • 4. Griffin H. Bat  |  January 15, 2009 at 3:19 am

      girlslashwoman: I wish I was that smooth at interviews! I turn to mush, mostly. I try to do the whole corny thing, but it comes out…forced. And truly corny. Heh. I hope that if I get the job, my boss is not a dragon. That would suck. A lot.

      Reply
  • 5. girlslashwoman  |  January 8, 2009 at 2:42 am

    P.S. I hope it went well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


