So this is the New Year…

January 1, 2009 at 4:55 pm Leave a comment

It’s funny, I thought that throughout the madness of moving, I would gain weight. I mean, really, I’ve been coming to Whole Foods every day to drop off my boyfriend at work and then I stay to use the Wi-Fi…and I eat food here. Fatty, delicious food. Cooking is still a little sketchy in my new place–the dishwasher is broken until probably next week. I am totally one of those whiny brats that can’t function without a dishwasher. So.

Today was BBQ from the hot bar, pita chips, grapes, and some kind of lowish sugar danish thing. I’ve been eating like a moron. And the scale? Is still being nice. (I unboxed it after its hiatus, breathed a sigh of despair, and stepped on. Shockingly, I haven’t gained. Wtf.) But I know it’s short-lived. I’ve been active, moving and maintaining a balance of input/output. If I want to avoid a regain, I need to stop eating whatever is convenient. Surprisingly, I’m still avoiding fast food like the plague. So it’s good to know that even when I’m being “bad,” I still avoid high-fat, fried, greasy McD’s.

Still, I know, eggshells. Slippery slopes.

One thing I’ve learned is that it sucksto move this time of year. I’m not kidding. No one is open. The gas guy, the water guy, the cable/internet guys, the condo board with their ridiculous approvals, the repair guys, they all want these days off. To be with their families and eating seasonal comfort foods instead of helping me. The nerve. Now I know why Wi-Fi hotspots are so golden. They’re for freaks like me who would rather sit in hard wooden chairs for hours in front of strangers than sitting at home unpacking shit to the sound of static television.

So when you walk by someone like this, looking all bored and shit:

snapshot_20090101_4

and wonder why they’re using the internet here instead of at home, well, then. It’s because the internet connecter people have the weekend off. And I have to get out of here in about an hour because these people all want to go home early, too! (How dare they? I have internet surfing to do!) My goodness. Never move into a new place around the holidays, people.

But really, I hope this is going to be a wonderful year. For everyone. New things, new experiences, new places, new jobs (I’ll tell more about that later), lots of “new” going on. I have nothing but optimism for the world this year. Maybe a little fear thrown in, but optimism. =)

Entry filed under: holidays. Tags: , , .

A not-so-quick quick update. The “job” situation…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


