Nostalgic jeans and The Xmas Outfit…

December 27, 2008 at 9:43 pm 4 comments

I didn’t realize how many things I owned until I had to pack them up. I’ve been packing all day…and I’m wiped out. I could use some extra b12. But guess what? It’s packed away, somewhere, in the fathoms of crap that I’ve stacked against the walls.

But! I see an end to all of it, finally. I packed up my huge closet. That took…too long. I ended up finding 2 giant bags worth of stuff to donate to the thrift store. And I had a little fun with some of my jeans:

 

corset-017

The top pair is size 26…the bottoms are 4s. Random sizes in-between. It’s sad to get rid of these “milestone” clothes…but I think that part of reaching a goal is letting go of some of the in-between successes. Or else be buried in mountains of jeans. (Although I will admit, I will keep those 26’s. It’s fun to do the “I fit in one leg!” thing. Cheesy, yes.)

One thing I won’t miss about this apartment: yellow walls. Light, dull, boring, ugly yellow. It makes lighting a nightmare in pictures. But I still took some of me in my Christmas outfit the other day:

corset-037

Isn’t it festive? I thought so. Hah. Don’t worry. I wore it with a sweater.

corset-032

See? Lovely sweater. Very comfy. The corset? Not so much. I ate so much jolly Christmas foods that the boning was being mean, really mean. But everyone liked it. Of course the few family members that ignored me + my weight loss also ignored my outfit. That’s okay, though. What goes around? Comes around. I believe in Karma, so I’ll leave it up to that. =)

Needless to say, it wasn’t a white Christmas. It was like 70 degrees out. I actually got hot in that outfit.

Entry filed under: holidays. Tags: , , .

Holiday, in more ways than one. A not-so-quick quick update.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. moens03  |  December 27, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    I love ur foto in pic 3 with sweater…. ni ce… a good effort with diet, its really you on photo in “about” page …??

    Reply
    • 2. Griffin H. Bat  |  December 27, 2008 at 11:51 pm

      Haha, thanks. Yup, that’s really me. =) In ugmo PJ pants and all. Heh.

      Reply
  • 3. Tiptoe  |  January 1, 2009 at 1:03 am

    I always think letting go of milestone clothes is hard whether it is for a positive or negative. I’ve let go of some jeans but do keep one pair probably for more negative nostalgic, unhealthy reasons. Why do clothes wind up having so much meaning?

    As for the outfit, it’s cute! All that matters is that you like the outfit and enjoy wearing it.

    Reply
    • 4. Griffin H. Bat  |  January 1, 2009 at 5:03 pm

      Tiptoe: letting go is *very* hard, you’re right. I’ve also got a few pieces of clothing kept for all the wrong reasons (my mom gave me a 00 skirt she wore when she was my age, and I know it’s unhealthy to look at it as “idea”, but there’s still that part of my brain that wants to wear it. Ridiculous, I know.) It’s funny how pieces of cloth sewn together with some thread can be such a big deal.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


