Christmas-time rants & raves. Mostly rants.

December 23, 2008 at 2:11 am 2 comments

I was sitting here, on my back-breakingly uncomfortable futon, reading my copy of Multiple Blessings (yeah, I admitted it), and then I realized. Oh, crap. I’m moving soon.

Oh, wait. I’m moving, in one week. And have I packed anything? Uh, no. There is no excuse. Just the procrastination and dread that comes with the lame task of boxing up my life in neat little boxes. Ughhh.

So, today I started packing crap up. I have a tidy collection of boxes that my boyfriend picked up from work (Whole Foods. So all of the boxes say “organic __”. It makes my stuff feel important!), and I made a large dent in everything today.

I’m seriously at the point where I can’t wait to move. We have new neighbors downstairs, and since they moved in a few weeks ago it has been like living in a frat house. Parties, strong smells of liquor and pot smoke wafting through the walls, smoking cigarettes outside my door, taking up parking, etc. I’m an old lady, I like my quiet. I paid WAY too much on rent here to live like that. Noise? It’s supposed to end at 10p.m., not 2a.m. So I’m happy to be leaving, to an area not being taken over by teenage tendencies.

So this is what occupies my mind this week, during Christmas. I’ll spend some time with my close family, but my mind is spilling over with thoughts of moving, new bills, old bills, not getting screwed by the new cable company, etc. It could be worse. I know.

Oh, and since everyone ignored me and my (apparently invisible) weight loss on Thanksgiving? I’m going to wear an outfit on Christmas that can notbe ignored. Yup. It’s a “I’m 22, I worked hard to reach my goals, and you’re lame” outfit. Adorable silver/not too slutty corset from Victoria’s secret under a cardigan, a silk grey skirt, and knee-high slouch boots. I still have issues with feeling “pretty” and/or “girly” in outfits, but this one is a winner. It’s the first one where I feel like a girl, and not a 300lb. lump in shapeless-yet-surprisingly-expensive clothes from the big girl store.

It’s not too slutty. I promise. I won’t ever go there. But every now and then, girl’s gotta break out the heels. Now, if only I had boobs. That’s another story. But I do need to unpack my camera long enough to snap a picture of this, my first-ever, “normal” Christmas outfit.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Excuses, excuses. Holiday, in more ways than one.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiptoe  |  December 27, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    No matter how prepared (or not) you may be for moving, moving is ALWAYS stressful. There’s just so much to do in what feels like such short time. However, once you’re in your new place and everything is in place, there is a big sigh of relief and thoughts of new beginnings.

    Much luck with that. How did the new outfit go? A head turner?

    Reply
    • 2. Griffin H. Bat  |  December 27, 2008 at 11:56 pm

      @Tiptoe: What is it about moving that is universally stressful? I’ve never seen anyone move who wasn’t a ball of nerves. But I am looking forward to settling in a new space! It’s always nice when the dust settles. =)

      Oh, and the outfit? Went over pretty well! I enjoyed dressing up. I need excuses to do it more often, I think.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


