Excuses, excuses.

December 16, 2008 at 10:30 pm 6 comments

I really, really need to start working out. I hate working out. I did really well right after surgery; I had an expensive gym membership and I made myself go several times a week. And then? I moved. And thanks to expensive rent, I no longer wanted to throw $100/month at a gym.

Really, though, that is a pitiful excuse. Why? Because my apartment has a “gym”. Sort of. A room in the clubhouse, filled to the brim with…1 treadmill, 1 elliptical, and a couple of manly weight machines. I would go further and say I don’t use this gym because every time I run on the treadmill, something about the static electricity shocks my hands when I touch the machine. It’s strange. And still, no good excuse.

But seriously, people. I got a good look of myself the other day in the mirror, sans clothing. And it wasn’t pretty. Nope. Really,  I think it could move one to tears. I know for a fact that I could work out like an angel every day and I’d still have lots of gooey extra skin. But? It would be better. It wouldn’t be so…abundant. And maybe then I wouldn’t have the upper body strength of a kitten.

Well, I don’t know. This is what I’ve been thinking about all day. And then I think, well, I’m moving across town in 2 weeks. Bye-bye, free “gym”.  Into a house. That has no gym. But there is a sidewalk! I can, like, walk and stuff.

I just think it’s funny that I put off working out like I used to with dieting. Tomorrow, I’ll diet. Tomorrow, I’ll work out, and start to rid myself of empty, saggy, gross flubber! But, yanno, I’m sure I’ll have awesome excuses when I move. The sidewalks, they’re dangerous. And dirty. With nature. Sigh.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Because I really feel like writing about dessert. Christmas-time rants & raves. Mostly rants.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiptoe  |  December 17, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Working out is good in the right balance. Sidewalks are also good. Maybe just commit to 20 minutes of walking? Nothing that is major, just a nice walk.

    Reply
  • 2. Griffin H. Bat  |  December 19, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Tiptoe: 20 minutes sounds good. Not too scary or dreary. I don’t know why I have such an issue with motivation/working out. I definitely need to work on it. But sidewalks aren’t so scary! I’m looking forward to living in a more set-off-the-highway place.

    Reply
  • 3. girlslashwoman  |  December 23, 2008 at 2:29 am

    I’ve collected DVDs. When I’m not in a gymmy mood, I just throw in one of those and have at er. I’ve done them in jeans, sweats, PJs whatever. It’s great for those bursts of motivation that die down as you start heading towards the gym. I just hop in front of the TV and do them before I lose my nerve.
    The ones that I find are best are usually the pilates DVDs. I actually feel them working.
    A surprising one is Carmen Electras fit to strip workout, #2 which has none of the strip and all of the fit. She really makes you work it and even though I hate her a little bit, it makes me feel good that sometimes she can’t keep up as well as I can.

    Reply
    • 4. Griffin H. Bat  |  December 24, 2008 at 1:27 am

      Hehe, I totally saw those Carmen Electra DVDs the other day! I’ll admit I’m curious about them. Who *doesn’t* want to know how to dance like a stripper? I know I do! But really, they look like a lot of fun. I might have to try it out (alone, when no one is watching…because hilarity will ensue, I assure you.)

      Reply
  • 5. girlslashwoman  |  January 8, 2009 at 2:45 am

    Hilarity ensued at my place when I did the first one because my mum couldn’t stop asking about her breasts (are they real? why are they so stiff? No.. no, they’re bouncing now)
    I’ve been thinking about buying the strip DVDs too. Just too embarassed to go up to the counter with one :s

    Reply
    • 6. Griffin H. Bat  |  January 15, 2009 at 3:22 am

      Haha, my mom would be SO angry if she ever saw me doing a “stripper DVD”. She would be convinced I’d gotten a new job downtown, and would never speak to me again. If I do find one of the DVDs and buy it…I’ll hide it when she comes over. =P

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


