Because I really feel like writing about dessert.

December 11, 2008 at 10:07 pm Leave a comment

I’m starting to really appreciate restaurants that realize, Hey, some people want dessert but they can’t have sugar, let’s fix that! And so they offer sugar-free confections.

Today, I found a restaurant that had home-made sugar free cherry pie. I ate a steak (well, like 1/3 of it), some veggies, and ordered myself a damn piece of pie. Like a normal person. Only I knew that if it was, indeed, sugar free, I wouldn’t be dumping all over it later (and I didn’t).

And it was good. It was hot and crumbly and cherrymazing. I split it with my significant other, who didn’t feel cheated that he wasn’t getting a real dessert, because it was so good.

It just makes sense: people go where the good stuff is. If I can go to restaurant A and get a sugar-free dessert made to suit, why would I even bother with restaurant B? I wouldn’t.

Oh, and I was in Publix a few days ago for the first time in months (why bother? I have a discount at Whole Foods, pshhyeah), and then, I saw it. Sugar. Free. CAKES. With an “s”. Plural. Chocolate cake. Vanilla cake. Cheesecake. Um, yes. I haven’t tried any yet, but it’s on my list. So what if they probably used Splenda? I’ve accepted the fact that by having an RNY, I’m probably going to grow an extra head from all the Splenda I use. I’m working on it. But when there’s cake involved, I don’t know, people. All is fair in love and cake.

Entry filed under: yummy things. Tags: .

I just never learn. Excuses, excuses.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


