It’s no chocolate cake…

November 26, 2008 at 5:00 pm 3 comments

Okay, so, for Thanksgiving I am making this:

2104strawberrypie

~ hungrygirl

A strawberry mush pie, essentially. And I hope it turns out well. When it comes down to eating “sweets,” I have to decide if I want to either dump on real sugar or deal with the fun aftereffects of sugar alcohol. So I choose the latter, mostly because…well…I don’t want to explain why I’m sweating through my clothes and acting like a nut to a bunch of people/family that has no idea I had surgery. Plus, it kind of makes people freak out.

Why not just avoid the sweets, you ask? Well. I’m 18 months out. I’m human. It’s Thanksgiving! I had surgery to be “normal” and such. I just have to modify the crap out of everything. Hence the sugar free, fiberlicious pie. Plus, I can’t burn down the apartment making JELL-O. Or can I?

Anyhow…I’ll be seeing some family tomorrow that I haven’t seen since I had surgery. They have no idea I’m not Me anymore. Well, I did have an aunt that saw me like 50 pounds ago, and I heard that once I left the room she said “Weeell…I hope she keeps it off.” Rude.

Tomorrow I’ll give thanks for the family members that I don’t secretly wish the pox upon, for surgery, skinny jeans and boots, and sugar alcohol bloat–but only because it’ll keep me from collapsing into a pool of my own dump-sweat in front of the turkey.

Entry filed under: yummy things. Tags: .

Oh, and? I just never learn.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. drcorner  |  November 26, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Don’t worry too much about the Holiday pounds…eat in moderation, or in spaced portions and enjoy everything! It’s a time to eat and be merry while making things on your own (great job BTW!).

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your Family. Check out my helpful guide for the holiday…thanks. It’s been a rough Year for many, I hope you enjoy it just as much.

    http://drcorner.wordpress.com/2008/11/26/a-happy-thanksgiving-to-all/

    Reply
  • 2. Tiptoe  |  November 27, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I think you certainly deserve to enjoy sweets. I’m sure the pie will be great.

    As for family, very rude what your aunt said. How do you feel about seeing family who don’t know about your WLS? How will you react if they ask?

    In any case, I hope the holiday treats you well.

    Reply
  • 3. Griffin H. Bat  |  December 1, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    @ Tiptoe: “rude” is a great word for most of my extended family! Hah. Usually, if I don’t feel like telling someone about WLS, I’ll tell them: I lost weight by portion control/high protein/calorie counting. Which is 100% true. I just don’t tell them my intestines are special. =)

    I had a lovely Thanksgiving, and I hope you did, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


