The turkey-day dilemma.

November 11, 2008 at 11:15 pm 2 comments

Cheeseandrice, you know what I just realized?

Thanksgiving, with all its fatty turkeys, hams, casseroles, and pumpkiny desserts, is, like, in two weeks.

 

thanksgivingmenu_s4x3_lead

~foodnetwork

And? I have no idea what I’m making. Because? Things that taste good to me–a rerouted weirdo who puts fat free cream cheese on everything and considers it “delicious!”–well, what can I make that I can eat AND people won’t politely spit into napkins? I dunno.

My cookbooks aren’t much help. I have a feeling that most of the things I make…taste like “diet food” to everyone else. I’ve spent the last 16 months convincing myself that “fat free/sugar free” = good. Real food tends to send me to the floor all a-flutters. Plus, it’s mean to force my diet foods on people that aren’t dieting, especially on Thanksgiving.

Huh. I’m thinking, paper plates and cups?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Moving, and smallish updates Well, duh.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiptoe  |  November 11, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Preparing T-Day foods is always hard. I don’t think there is any way of ever pleasing everyone. On one hand, you have the crowd who is dieting. The other consists of people who decide they are going to eat, enjoy their food, then go on a diet afterwards. Then, there are those who just eat, enjoy it, and don’t complain at all.

    Sigh. I wish I could be of more help, but I do think there are ways of making sugar-free/fat-free stuff taste okay. I used to make sugar-free cookies all the time, and people never knew the difference.

    I know you’ll figure it out.

    Reply
  • 2. Griffin H. Bat  |  November 21, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Tiptoe: T-Day IS hard! Everyone always wants something different. I think I’m the only dieter left in my family. They’re a fun bunch to be around. Haha. You know, the ones that bring Diet Coke to go with their Key Lime Pies? Yes.

    & you’re right…there are lots of ways to make things taste good. My perception is so messed up, but I think I can fool people into thinking it tastes good, hopefully! We’ll see. Heh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


