Moving, and smallish updates

November 2, 2008 at 8:13 pm 2 comments

I’ve spent the last few weeks in a fluster of thoughts, plans, and Big Decisions. It really freaks me out. I’m at the point in my life where I have to stop putting things off, because time sneaks up on me faster than it used to. I’m trying to take it in stride, but I am terrified of making the wrong decision.

Basically, do I stay or do I go?

Do I uproot everything and move to Boston? Do I want to give up my walk-in closet-laden land of plenty in a crappy city, all for a box-sized/overpriced apartment in a wonderful city? There are so many reasons NOT to move, and yet there are so many reasons TO move. All these prospects are swirling around in my head like an overloaded washing machine.

One thing I DO know: I am moving. My lease is up here at the end of January (I extended it a month to buy myself more “thinkin'” time). I do not want to stay here. I’ve realized that for about $100 more per month, I can rent a freaking house closer to where my boyfriend works (Whole Foods), versus this apartment. This STUDIO apartment. Hummm.

Anyway, we’re going to look at a house for rent tomorrow. It’s so, so close to useful things. I want more than anything to fall in love with it, and KNOW it’s the right thing to do. I want things to fall into place, perfectly, and for it to spell out in the air in big, flashing neon letters: This is the Right Thing to Do! But I don’t know. It could be old and smelly and lacking in requirements (I MUST have a dishwasher. I just must. If I didn’t have one, I’d be washing measuring cups all day long, no joke). Who knows. I’ll expect the worst, but hope for the best.

In other news:

  • Halloween was fun, I ate TWO, count them, TWO Reese’s peanut butter cups, within hours of each other, and didn’t dump. I find this amusing, because I apparently DO dump on reduced-sugar cake? WTF? My body teaches me new things every day.
  • Ghost Hunters Live! totally sucked. It was boring, nothing happened, and I swear that British host guy was wearing a lady’s coat.
  • I quit relying on other people to give me my B12 shot and decided to do it myself, darnit. I stabbed myself a few times before I could get it to go in. Everyone made it seem so easy, and yet I struggled to do it correctly…it made me feel really smart.
  • My daily iced lattes have now pretty much become hot lattes, which means fall is officially here, in my mind. And it’s lovely.
Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Mmm. vitamins. The turkey-day dilemma.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiptoe  |  November 2, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    I so hear you about making BIG decisions and fearing they are wrong. I’ve always been a bit idealistic in whatever place I move to next. I want to fall in love with it, same with a job, etc. It kind of keep me cornered sometimes.

    I do find making lists of what want and don’t want helpful. I hope house hunting either makes you fall in love with the place or know it is not the right one.

    Oh yeah, giving yourself shots is not fun but you do get used to it.

    Reply
  • 2. Griffin H. Bat  |  November 4, 2008 at 2:57 am

    Tiptoe: it’s so funny you mentioned lists; I am a HUGE maker of lists. I definitely need to make one for my huge “moving” ordeal.

    And giving myself shots–I hope I get used to it! I definitely have nothing but admiration for those that have to do it on a daily basis.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


