How to eat Greek yoghurt and make silly faces

September 17, 2008 at 6:03 pm 1 comment

I’m nothing if not a creature of habit. I tend to eat the same foods every day, not unlike a dog. So when everyone said that Greek yogurt (the “gold standard” for us pouchified people being Fage 0%) was a great thing to have around after surgery, I went out and bought some, not really knowing what to do with it other than eat it, because, hey, yogurt is yummy! It could become a staple in my diet! What I didn’t know? By itself, this stuff tastes just like sour cream, and inspires a face not unlike this one:

 "Ewww" face

Yeah. The fact that it’s fat free, super-low sugar (hah! no kidding), and low-cal (60 calories per .5 cup), and high in protein (10 grams/.5 cup)–that doesn’t really matter if it tastes like crap. So, the trick? Splenda. Sugar-Free syrups. Cereal. Granola. Really, the possibilities are endless. It’s like a lump of clay you have to mold into something tasty. This is what I do with it, pretty much every day. Yes. Like I said, creature of habit.

First, I make sure I have a cute bowl to eat out of. Foods taste better in cute little bowls, trust me on this.

       

I measure out about 1/3 of a cup of the Fage and then mix in 1 packet of splenda and SF Raspberry syrup to taste.

 

 Add your Crunch of choice. Mine happens to be a cute little bag of Kay’s Naturals Apple Cinnamon protein cereal. This stuff is like crack. In a delicious, addictive, not-rotting-my-brain kind of way. It makes me make my stupid Nom Nom Yummy face, like this:  

obligatory "Yum" face

There you have it. Lunch.

Entry filed under: foods I eat, yummy things. Tags: , .

Where she thinks about her 7 sets of measuring cups… Loud blenders lead to quiet, devious lives

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tiptoe  |  September 21, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    I had to chuckle at this, because I recently tried Greek yogurt a few months ago after one of my runners’ forums had raved about it. The plain is absolutely horrendous! I wound up also adding some splenda to it. The blueberry fares much better, and is the only kind of Greek yogurt I now buy.

    That’s the only bad problem with yogurt is that you wind up having to put all these other ingredients just to make it taste appetizing.

    By the way, I love the bowl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


