Blogging for life

September 14, 2008 at 5:36 pm 2 comments

This whole “blog” thing has really got me feeling old. Yes. I know, shut up, Ms. Bat. You’re 22, go play with your crayons. But the thing is, I’ve been “blogging” online since 2000, all on various free journal sites, but eventually I landed my dramatic little plane on LiveJournal. I have over 900 entries saved on my good ‘ol LJ account. Nothing useful, no specific “goal” or “category”, just the ramblings of a younger, larger, rebellious version of Me. I think of unleashing all those entries for the public to read and I cringe.

Really,  I can’t even make my brain equate that blog with this blog. I think of my LiveJournal blog as the worn, pink paper diary with the padlock that I used to hide from my sister. And this blog? It’s the Moleskin notebook I leave open when I go back for second latte at the coffee shop.

It’s just different. I’m having to, essentially, start from scratch. Oh, how I envy those bloggers who have stuck with the same site for years. Especially the fellow WLS bloggers who did the smart thing and started blogging the minute they decided to have surgery. I throw my hat to you (and it’s a nice one. With diamonds.).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Being a homebody is totally green. I swear. The acceptable form of disordered eating

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. girlslashwoman  |  December 23, 2008 at 2:42 am

    It’s funny how blogs have this way of partitioning your life.
    I have numerous blogs but two major ones. The first one was from 2000 to 2002 where I was this girl with a made up name and life etc. It was on blogger. In 2002, I got one of those nifty invite codes for LJ, I fessed up and revealed “the real me”. My family and friends joined on and we were this happy circle of bloggers. By 2007, I was barely using it. This year, I started my new one on WordPress and I wanted to be totally anonymous because it was only then, when I could be honest with myself to post what I really feel about. I don’t really connect my new blog with old ones either. It feels as if they are written by different people.
    I think it’s all helpful because one day when we’re really really really old (like 25), we can look back on it and feel satisfied that we have grown up… or cry because we haven’t at all.

    Reply
    • 2. Griffin H. Bat  |  December 23, 2008 at 11:42 pm

      So glad I’m not the only one! I feel bad about “abandoning” LJ. But, really, my “circle” on there all left it for Myspace/Facebook/etc. I like to think I’ve grown a lot since those days…but I know in a few years (like when I’m 25, like you said!) I’ll look back on these days and feel all immature and lame. Oh, the evolution of the blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


000wp

Griffin H. Bat was very, very fat. She had WLS in 2007 and has gone from 314 pounds to 120ish, and often wonders where her mind went along with all that gooey adipose matter. Even with new guts, she still thinks about cupcakes and their confectionary goodness. She feels like a bear that has lost its stuffing, but she won't hesitate to tell you how lovely you are.


